ISE home

Home > Market Structure & Membership > Overview 

     The ISE plans to list and trade options on the most widely owned and popular stocks, which are divided into ten groups or bins. Market makers are assigned to provide liquidity in each group.

     ISE has three classifications of members, all of whom are registered broker/dealers.

  • 10 Primary Market Makers (PMM)
  • 100 Competitive Market Makers (CMM)
  • Unlimited number of broker/dealers functioning as Electronic Access Members (EAM)

     In the ISE system, floor brokers are not needed since orders are input by broker/dealers directly to the point-of-sale (electronic order book).

© 2002, International Securities Exchange. Disclaimer